Enter Sandman

Courtney Maum
6 min readMay 27, 2021

Ten things that have helped me with insomnia

Photo by elizabeth lies on Unsplash

Insomnia has plagued me since I was a child. As early as eight years of age, I used to wake up far earlier than my friends, unable to fall back asleep even though my body was exhausted. On nights when pals slept over, I’d lie awake and lonely in the early mornings, finally tossing a stuffed animal (or two) in the direction of my sleepmate, only to exclaim “Well, we might as well get up and play now!” when they questioned why a stuffed pegasus had just hit them in the head.

Short of hypnosis (which is on the docket for me this summer), I think I have tried just about every cure and medicine and supplement available to rid me of insomnia. Big picture, what works best is reducing stress and laying off the vino, but aside from these obvious (and not so fun) best practices, I wanted to share a few things that have worked for me, in case they work for you.

Tribe Organics Ashwagandha: Ashwagandha is a supplement proven to support adrenal functioning, and for a girl who once landed in a medical bracelet because of adrenal exhaustion, I’m here to tell you that your 21st century adrenals need all the help that they can get. I’ve tried a few different brands (including a super expensive, pungent liquid formula) and nothing can top these affordable, easy pills that you take twice a day.

--

--

Courtney Maum

Book coach. Author COSTALEGRE, TOUCH, I AM HAVING SO MUCH FUN HERE WITHOUT YOU + BEFORE AND AFTER THE BOOK DEAL. Horsegirl. Namer. Newsletter-> courtneymaum.com